M.T. Kalashnikov Museum and Exhibition Small Arms Complex

Home » About the Museum

About the Museum

Print version

M. T. Kalashnikov Museum and Exhibition Small Arms Complex

The Kalashnikov Museum and Exhibition Complex of Small Arms was founded in 2004. From the day of its foundation it became the main sight of Izhevsk, the capital of the Udmurt Republic and the City of Armourers with a 200-year history.

The museum was rightly named after Mikhail Kalashnikov. It was in Izhevsk that the legendary AK-47, the most popular weapon of the present day, began to be mass-produced. The design team of Izhevsk Machine-Building Factory gave birth to five generations of AK weapons. Mikhail Kalashnikov lived here most of his life and became an honorary citizen of Izhevsk and the Udmurt Republic. Mikhail Kalashnikov, Gennadiy Nikonov, Evgeniy Dragunov and Vladimir Yarygin make up a group of renowned Izhevsk weapon designers that made our city famous all over the globe.

The main exhibition of the museum tells about the history of our country and weapon production, shows new samples of guns. All exhibition halls are equipped with multimedia facilities. In our demonstration halls (firearms, air gun and archery ranges) there is a variety of historic and modern weapons to try.

The Kalashnikov Museum and Exhibition Complex of Small Arms annually receives more than 160 thousand visitors of different ages and nationalities.

M. T. Kalashnikov Museum and Exhibition Small Arms Complex

M. T. Kalashnikov Museum and Exhibition Small Arms Complex

Главная » О Музее

Музейно-выставочный комплекс стрелкового оружия имени М. Т. Калашникова

Музейно-выставочный комплекс стрелкового оружия имени М. Т. Калашникова появился на культурной карте России в 2004 году. Он сразу же стал достопримечательностью столицы Удмуртской Республики — города Ижевска, оружейная история которого насчитывает более двухсот лет. 

Музей по праву носит имя Михаила Тимофеевича Калашникова. Именно в Ижевске удачное конструкторское решение АК-47 получило воплощение в массовом производстве. На заводе «Ижмаш» в специальном КБ родились все пять поколений оружия «семейства Калашникова». Михаил Тимофеевич прожил здесь всю дальнейшую жизнь, став почетным гражданином Ижевска и Удмуртской республики. Вместе с Г.Н. Никоновым, Е.Ф. Драгуновым и В.А. Ярыгиным он составляет славную когорту ижевских конструкторов-оружейников.

Основная экспозиция музея представляет отечественную историю, ретроспективу производства и новые разработки стрелкового оружия. Все выставочные залы оснащены мультимедийным оборудованием. В современных демонстрационных залах (огнестрельный, пневматический и лучно-арбалетный тиры) можно выбрать различные образцы исторического и действующего оружия.

Ежегодно МВК принимает более 160 тысяч посетителей. Это дети и взрослые, жители Удмуртии, России, ближнего и дальнего зарубежья, участники крупных международных соревнований, иностранные гости столицы УР.

 

Памятник М.Т.Калашникову, скульптор В.Б.Курочкин

Музейно-выставочный комплекс стрелкового оружия имени М. Т. Калашникова